Now I turn to spinach for support…

Today, in the 20 extra minutes I’ve found to spare, I will talk to you about the last nine weeks of my life. Well, not so much about what I’ve been up to, but rather about something I have lost. Not a single part of me is sad that I’ve lots this, nor do I want to go around looking for it (ever).

You see, one day in March I was sitting on my couch, most likely nibbling on candy, and I saw a commercial. I had seen this commercial like most of you probably have dozens of times. What I impulsively did after watching this commercial will probably change my life in a really positive way forever. This action is exactly what caused me to lose this thing that I really never ever want to gain back.

On March 18, I joined Weight Watchers.

I was tired of sitting on my couch, day after day, scrolling through Pinterest lying to myself about doing that “20 minutes to great abs” workout and “30 days to a thinner you” meal plan. I had given up on Jillian Michaels’ intense workout videos and eating healthy alone was too much of a challenge in my busy life.

So to sum up the last nine weeks of my life, I have lost 16 lbs. Doesn’t it make sense now why I never want to find this ever again? I’ve lost this weight solely by eating healthy and also eating the stuff I love (like candy) in moderation. I waited so long to share this with people since I doubted myself at first, but after losing seven pounds in my very first week, I knew this was the start of something much greater than looking good. Once I’ve met my goal, I will feel healthy, empowered and full of energy and life, as a 21 year old should feel.

My 20 minutes are up now. I catch myself reaching for a bowl of crisp spinach with bright cherry tomatoes and cucumbers instead of candy and chocolate bars now. I’m taking control, in one way or another, and I’m really excited for what’s to come.

signature

One thought on “Now I turn to spinach for support…

  1. Pingback: Monday Mantra – October 7 | The Humble Truth

{ what did you think? }

