My creative passenger and thoughts…

COolness

So lately my boyfriend and I have been absolutely OBSESSED with the show Dexter. Obviously any excuse to have multiple Netflix marathons is awesome, but this show has just got us hooked to the max. If you’re not familiar, Dexter is a show about a thirty-something-year-old blood spatter annalist who is also a serial killer in his spare time – multitasking much? It sounds pretty extreme, but any Dexter fan will understand when I say that I have a soft spot for Dexter Morgan in my heart. Anyway, I’m telling you this because Dexter likes to refer to his killer-side as his dark passenger. Which inspired me to write about my passenger, which is not so dark and more so colourful and happy.

My creative passenger has been a part of me since I was able to hold a crayon in my hands. I’ve always liked DIY projects and often covered my bedroom walls, as a kid and teenager, with magazine pics and the latest Picasso piece by yours truly. This eventually grew into a larger aspect of my life as I now have just about every element of creativity and art in my life from writing and photography to creating handmade jewellery and cards.

I’ve recently started to invest more time into my jewellery line, Birch Jewellery (formally known as Samantha Dolly Jewellery), and it’s really starting to pay off. Not just financially (everyone can use some extra latte money), but it has also really helped me get in touch with my inner artist again. After moving to Ottawa in 2011 I think I left a big part of my creative side at home. It could be that I sort of started to grow up and became busier with school and work, but it was very obvious that I was losing a big part of who I was. After having somewhat of a quarter life crisis (multiple times) and being scared of changing too much, I remembered that I control who I am and what I will become and that I wasn’t losing a part of myself, but rather evolving.

So here I am so many years later and I think a spark has ignited and my creative passenger is ready to roll. I’ve been dedicating more time to making jewellery and paying attention to details and in doing so I’ve been getting some hype. I’ve always wanted to become a true part of the Ottawa culture and community and I can feel that already I’ve at least got the tips of my toes in the door and am headed in the right direction. My goals for this spring and summer are to immerse myself in everything local and cultural in Ottawa and become an active member of the artistic community. I don’t know where this will all take me, but I can say that I am happy and it’s giving me the warm fuzzies just thinking about the possibilities.

On that note, I’ve decided to start doing local deliveries for my jewellery in order to meet the great people who are also investing in my creativity and art and to meet them face-to-face. Shipping is expensive these days and dropping off a cute package that I’ve put a bit of heart and soul into is an excuse to get out there and be more creative and involved. If you’re a local shopper and would like to place an order, please comment below, tweet me, send over a Facebook message or a conversation on Etsy and I will be more than happy to arrange a pick-up or drop-off in the Ottawa area.

Thank you to everyone that has supported me through the years and continues to do so. Something as simple and reading my blog, commented on a photograph I’ve taken or liking my jewellery page on Facebook means the world to me. It’s a small yet a huge expression of caring which I will be forever grateful for.

All the best in the month of May – thank you a million times over again.

samantha-signature

{ what did you think? }

