Remembering Robin Williams

remembering_robin_williams

When I heard the news about Robin Williams’ passing earlier this week, a very deep sadness came across me. At first, like many I’m sure, I thought it was just another hoax that Hollywood put out to cause trouble, but the more credible sources and news outlets that reported on it, the more I started to believe it was true.

When a celebrity passes away it has a very diverse effect on people. Some could care less about anyone that has to do with Tinseltown, and others have been so deeply touched by an individual that it’s like losing a close friend or family member.

I think Robin Williams was just that – a part of our families. He’s been in the business for nearly 40 years and has touched the lives of so many with his wittiness, kind spirit and generosity. Over the last few days, people from all over the globe have been remembering his life and career, myself included. The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Robin Williams is Jumanji. Lazy Friday afternoons and snow days we’re all about watching the 90s classic in my elementary school. Being in French immersion all through school, we’d huddle around the television watching the movie in French with the English subtitles hanging on every word Alan Parrish had to say. He was the hero and I think I’ll always remember him that way.

Depression is a really tragic illness that often goes unnoticed or untreated. It’s not exactly easy to treat depression since everyone goes through it differently in their own way and it’s not always in plain sight. Voltaire once said, ” The human brain is a complex organ with the wonderful power of enabling man to find reasons to believe whatever it is that he wants to believe.” Though this is an incredibly true and optimistic statement, depression becomes that belief that takes over.

If you or anyone you know is going through a dark time, know that there is always someone out there to talk to. It’s not easy to take that step and talk to someone, as I know through my own experiences, but I do know that once you’ve opened up, you’ve given yourself the opportunity to find relief and happiness. There is hope – don’t be afraid to take that step because depression hurts.

Rest your sweet soul in peace, Mr. Williams.

samantha-signature

{ what did you think? }

